Patients whom I dislike

Type of Patients I dislike?
Well, it’s a tricky question! Or is it?
Patients or Clients as they are termed in Western countries come to Doctors for varied reasons. Clients can be
 Open type who give required information on inquiry or
 closed types who never want to reveal any facts or
 talkative, never ending chit chatters or
 methodical tell me each detail about treatments taken until now with all minutest details of dosage , or
 denying type who want to show their own knowledge or
 Too fussy asking too many questions without waiting for answers; even after clearing all of their doubts still doubtful.
 Some are hypochondriac or imagine they could have each of the disease they hear about
 but most recent addition is of cyperchondriacs-who search details on internet and treatment provided for it and experiment on their own. These patients could be fussy as well as endanger their own prospects of getting cured by too much of medication, I must warn here.
In my practice I see those who just want clarification but no medicines.
Those who need only medicines and magical cure but no advice!
Those need only a friendly adviser who is non-judgemental third party.
Those really need to improve their health as a whole as well as cement a lasting bonding with their Doctor.
I usually figure out in one or two sittings what’s their need and conduct myself accordingly. Yet few Patients do not realize that being friendly does not allow them to take me for granted or talk incessantly at busy hours. Though their purpose is just to confirm what they have already decided and not to change their minds, they still carry on.
Few are too concerned about me and will not say they are not feeling any better. They think it may offend me; but it won’t. My job is to fix the problem and being honest and telling that medicine did not work will lead to a more suitable medicine, that’s all. All Homoeopaths will appreciate it I guess. It’s better than start searching for a new Doctor both for the patient and for the Doctor is it not?
Few have something else on their minds. Their important complaint which usually will be cosmetic one which is cured mostly in the end of the whole treatment course, may not be that important issue for their Health. For example few worry incessantly about a dark spot on face but not so worried about Thyroid issue. If Doctor says it will fade away after 1-2 months, not convinced but ignore to take Thyroid medicines as prescribed.
They should understand as well as trust the Doctor and stop interfering in the on-going treatment with other Doctor’s prescriptions or over the counter drugs. Patient should be ‘Patient’ is it not? Mostly they hide facts which are still more dangerous.
Few patient’s forget that Doctor had asked for follow-up to solve the Problem completely which cannot be done when acute symptoms were present like wheezing with fever, loose motions so on and so forth. They remember again when real problem arises and sometimes it may become very tough to treat at that point of time. So, following Doctors advice is very important, and should not think of money or time.
Honestly; tell me, is curing abdomen pain due to kidney stones with three months medicines worth it or going for surgery saying no time to see the Doctor, will be better? Is it not like that adage ”using axe to cut which needed a finger nail” You may have to shell thousands of rupees plus pain and other troubles for a life time inclusive, is it not?
Last but not the least Doctors have their own importance in their life’s so judging Doctors on their Ideals is as bad as getting judged by them in turn. It’s a relationship of trust, mutual respect and includes service mindedness. Thinking that since I pay him, Doctor should attend me at my own timings or convenience does not suit is it not? It’s true that few Doctors nowadays do not seem to sense the feelings or urgency of their Patients; yet they are also humans.
Now the let me come to the Heading of this article. Honestly, why I should dislike any of them? In reality I like each one my of Patients. I like all of them because they have trusted me to mend their problems and given me an opportunity to serve them. Closest friend or a kin may be having very good personal relationship with me, but may not trust me in health issues is it not? So, all of them are adorable.
Especially those Cute little tots are my favorite. They just pull me out of sadness or regular weariness. Few of my Patients will tell me about new trends or just share random information. During psychotherapy my emotional burdens will be reduced and will discover so many shades of life; will be filled with gratitude about Life.
Moreover I Judge none of them. They share their personal things with me just for getting help to solve their problems, Doctors are only allowed to help not to judge or comment on somebody’s personal choices, is it not? This is the most respected profession even today not only because it requires high levels of perseverance and skills but also in that process we touch so many life’s and its very tough to carry on without our benefactors who have given us huge responsibility. Let me strive to fulfill it. Have a happy week ahead.

One thought on “Patients whom I dislike

Leave a Reply

